**Source URL:** https://safety.veevavault.help/en/gr/1112424/

# Enable Safety Deletion Logs

With the 26R2 release, Safety allows you to mandate a formal, auditable justification whenever documents are deleted from Vault. Users can mark documents for deletion, prompting Vault to create a _Safety Deletion Log_ record with context on the document and the user's deletion request. After a 30 day1 retention period, Vault permanently deletes the document, retaining the document and deletion metadata in the _Safety Deletion Log_ for compliance retention.

**Note**: 1. Contact your Veeva Representative to change this limit.

## Overview

To enable this feature in your Vault:

* Assign the _Marked for Deletion_ shared field to the relevant document types, subtypes, and classifications, as required by your business processes
* [Configure document deletion][1]
* [Update the _Safety Deletion Log_ object layout][2]
* [Configure the _Cancel Document Deletion Request_ action on the _Safety Deletion Log_][3]
* Activate the _Safety Daily Maintenance Job_

## Configure Document Deletion {#document-deletion}

As required by your business processes, configure the following for the relevant states on the relevant document lifecycles:

* Add the _Delete Document with Reason_ user action as follows:
    * **Condition Type**: Select **Always**
    * **Allow the following actions**:
        * Select **Delete Document with Reason**
        * **Action Label**: Enter `Delete Document with Reason`
* Edit security settings to remove **Delete** permissions for all roles

## Update the Safety Deletion Log Object Layout {#update-layout}

To update the _Safety Deletion Log_ object layout:

1. Copy the standard layout and ensure the new layout is active.
2. Set the copied layout as the default.
3. Delete any other existing custom layouts.

## Configure the Cancel Document Deletion Request Action {#action}

To configure the _Cancel Document Deletion Request_ action on the _Safety Deletion Log_:

1. Assign the _Cancel Document Deletion Request_ user action to the _Safety Deletion Log_ object and clear the **Available in All Lifecycle States** checkbox.
2. Add a user action to the _Pending Deletion_ state of the _Safety Deletion Logs Lifecycle_ as follows:
    * **Condition Type**: Select **Always**
    * **Allow the following actions**:
        * Select **Cancel Deletion Request**
        * **Action Label**: Enter `Cancel Deletion Request`

[1]: #document-deletion
[2]: #update-layout
[3]: #action