**Source URL:** https://safety.veevavault.help/en/gr/1112429/

# Mark a Document for Deletion

When you [mark a document for deletion][1], Vault creates a _Safety Deletion Log_ to capture the deletion request details, allowing your organization to retain an auditable trail of document deletion data. If a document is marked for deletion in error, you can [cancel the deletion request][5]. After the document's retention period has passed, Vault deletes the document.

## Prerequisite

To use this feature, your Admin must enable Safety Deletion Logs.

## Mark a Document for Deletion {#mark-document-for-deletion}

To mark a document for deletion:

1. From the document's **All Actions** menu, select saf-delete-trash-icon **Delete Document with Reason**.
2. In the _Mark Document for Deletion_ window, select a **Deletion Reason** from the picklist, then enter any optional comments to justify the deletion in the **Deletion Comments** field. Vault indicates the retention period (the number of days it will wait before permanently deleting the document) at the top of this window.
3. Select **Continue**.

Once the document is marked for deletion, Vault:

* Displays a confirmation message indicating that the document has been marked for deletion
* Updates the _Marked for Deletion_ field on the document to _Yes_
* Creates a _Safety Deletion Log_ in the _Pending Deletion_ state and populates its [fields][4]

After the retention period, Vault deletes the document and moves the _Safety Deletion Log_ to the _Deleted_ state.

If Vault encounters an error while attempting to delete a document (for example, if the document is involved in an active workflow or is referenced by an object), Vault:

* Moves the associated _Safety Deletion Log_ to the _Deletion Error_ state
* Sends an error notification to the user who marked the document for deletion
* Continues to attempt deletion daily until the document is successfully deleted

### Safety Deletion Log Fields {#fields}

The following fields may be available:

<table>
    <thead>
        <tr>
            <th>Field
            <th>Description

<tbody>
        <tr>
            <td>Created Date
            <td markdown="span">The date the user marked the document for deletion. Vault deletes documents when the current date is equal to or later than the document's Created Date plus the retention period.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Cancellation Reason
            <td markdown="span">If the deletion request is canceled, Vault populates any comments added by the user who canceled the request.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Deletion Comments
            <td>Vault populates any comments added by the user who marked the document for deletion.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Deletion Date
            <td markdown="span">Vault leaves this blank until the document is deleted.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Deletion Reason
            <td markdown="span">Vault populates the reason selected by the user who marked the document for deletion.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Document Classification
            <td>Vault populates the document's classification, if it has one.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Document Created By
            <td>Vault populates the Person who created the document.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Document ID
            <td>Vault populates the Document ID of the document marked for deletion.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Document Name
            <td>Vault populates the Name of the document marked for deletion.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Document Number
            <td>Vault populates the Number of the document marked for deletion.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Document Subtype
            <td>Vault populates the document's subtype, if it has one.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Document Type
            <td>Vault populates the document's type.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Document Version
            <td>Vault populates the latest version of the document when it was marked for deletion.
        
        <tr>
            <td>Safety Deletion Log Type
            <td>Vault populates Document.
        
        <tr>
            <td>User Making Request
            <td>Vault populates the User who made the document deletion request.

## Cancel Document Deletion Request {#cancel}

If a document was marked for deletion in error, you can cancel the deletion request, provided it is within [the retention period][2]:

1. Navigate to **Business Admin > Objects > Safety Deletion Logs**.
2. Select the _Safety Deletion Log_ related to the document. If required, you can search and filter results, for example, by the name of the user who requested the document deletion.
3. From the **All Actions** menu, select cancel-date-icon **Cancel Deletion Request**.
4. In the _Cancel Document Deletion Request_ dialog, enter a comment in the **Cancellation Reason** field, then select **Continue**.

Vault:

* Closes the dialog and displays a confirmation message
* Populates the _Cancellation Reason_ on the _Safety Deletion Log_ with the entered comment
* Updates the _Safety Deletion Log_ to the _Canceled_ state
* Updates the _Marked for Deletion_ field on the selected document to _No_

[1]: #mark-document-for-deletion
[2]: #deletion-window
[3]: #retention-period
[4]: #fields
[5]: #cancel